Museu de Ciències Naturals de Barcelona

Comunicació Latest news Museum newsMuseu de Ciències Naturals de Barcelona Anna Omedes the winner of the Beacon of the Year Award 2022

Anna Omedes the winner of the Beacon of the Year Award 2022

3 June 2022

The winners of the the Mariano Gago Ecsite Awards are announced at the Opening Ceremony of the Ecsite Conference, at Experimenta in Heilbronn, Germany.

The Beacon of the Year Award 2022 was presented to Anna Omedes, former Director of the Museum of Natural Science in Barcelona, Spain for her personal embodiment of the network’s values. The award celebrates inspirational individuals who have made a significant contribution to both the field and to the Ecsite network, recognising innovative visionaries who are empowering and motivating their peers to reach the common goal of emboldening citizens to engage with science.


Ecsite brings together 327 organizations committed to inspiring people with science and technology and facilitating dialogue between science and society. Its 327 members are: 194 Science Centers/Museums, 19 Natural History Museums, 28 research organizations, 34 private companies, 9 Festivals, 9 Professional Networks and 35 other organizations. Through grants and awards, Ecsite supports advances in scientific participation and recognizes those who contribute.
The Ecsite network connects, inspires and empowers organizations and professionals committed to science with the goal of expanding the scope and enhancing the impact of their work.
The Beacon of the Year Award is one of the awards that are part of the Mariano Gago Ecsite Awards. They are named after José Mariano Gago (1948-2015), a key figure in the European scientific commitment and founder of the Ciência Viva scientific network.
The Jury was made up of:
  • Sharon Ament: Director of Museum of London.
  • Ken Arnold: Director of Medical Museion (part of the Novo Nordisk Foundation Center for Basic Metabolic Research – CBMR), Professor at Copenhagen University and Creative Director at Wellcome, Wellcome Collection.
  • Sarah Davies: Professor of Technosciences, Materiality and Digital Cultures, Department of Science and Technology Studies, University of Vienna.
  • David Harvey: Former Senior Vice President of Exhibition, American Museum of Natural History. David Harvey Design, LLC.
  • Alexandre Quintanilha: Physicist, Member of the Science and Technology Advisory Council for the President of the European Commission.
  • Eric Marshall: Founder and Consultant Resonant Partnerships.
  • Beacon of the year 2020 Maya Halevy: Director
    The Bloomfield Science Museum Jerusalem.

More information: